Larbert High School Retain Falkirk Schools Swimming Championships

The fifth annual Falkirk High Schools Swimming Championships took place on Thursday the 23rd of October at Grangemouth Sports Complex. The event was a competitive event for boys and girls from S1 – S6. On the day all 8 Falkirk high schools took part with over 200 boys and girls swimming in a variety of individual strokes and relay races.

There were 1st, 2nd and 3rd place prizes awarded for all individual strokes (butterfly, breaststroke, backstroke and freestyle) as well as prizes for the top 3 relay teams in the I.M. relays and freestyle relays. Additionally there were prizes awarded to the top male and female sprinters on the day.

Larbert High School won the competition with a total score of 385pts, in 2nd place were St. Mungo’s High School on 342pts and in 3rd place were Denny High with a score of 298pts.

Boys Super sprint Champion: Ryan Retson, Graeme High

Girls Super sprint Champion: Jenna Lafferty, St. Mungo’s High

There were a number of records broken on the day. Below is a list of new records set:

  • Jenna Lafferty, St. Mungo’s High  S3-S4 Girls 50m Backstroke: 32.75secs
  • Anya Reed, Falkirk High S3-S4 Girls 50m  Breaststroke: 36.38secs
  • Craig Barnes, Braes High S5-S6 50m Breaststroke: 32.56secs
  • Nino DelRio, St. Mungo’s High S3-S4 50M Butterfly: 29.03secs

Active Schools would like to thank all staff, Grangemouth High School Sports Leaders and pupils who attended and helped out on the day for making the event such a huge success. 

Published on Friday, 24th October 2014


comments powered by Disqus

Contact us

Falkirk Community Trust
Falkirk Stadium
4 Stadium Way

01324 590900