Going for Glasgow Awards Ceremony Lights up FTH

Active Schools Going for Glasgow Awards night kicked off with a bang! After schools showcased their amazing work they headed to main hall for a fun packed night of glitzy awards, memory filled photos and videos and well deserved recognition to all.

Schools had submitted nominations to the panel for 9 different categories. Along with the individual awards (winners and runners up detailed below) the schools received their accreditation plaques in gold, silver and bronze. See the whole photo album on our Flickr page!

Bronze Award

Sacred Heart Primary

St Bernadette’s Primary

Silver Award

California Primary

Shieldhill Primary

Victoria Primary

Whitecross Primary

Moray Primary

Gold Award

Bo’ness Public Primary

Deanburn Primary

Grange Primary

Drumbowie Primary

Maddiston Primary

Slamannan Primary

Wallacestone Primary

Antonine Primary

Bankier Primary

Bonnybridge Primary

Denny Primary

Dunipace Primary

Head of Muir Primary

Nethermains Primary

Bainsford Primary

Carmuirs Primary

Comely Park Primary

Easter Carmuirs Primary

Langlees Primary

Limerigg Primary

Hallglen Primary

Laurieston Primary

St Margarets Primary

Westquarter Primary

Beancross Primary

Bothkenner Primary

Airth Primary

Carron Primary

Carronshore Primary

Kinnaird Primary

Ladeside Primary

Larbert Village Primary

Stenhousemuir Primary

St Francis Primary

St Joseph’s Primary

St Mary’s Primary

St Patrick’s Primary

Social Media Star Award

Runners up: Head of Muir Primary, Beancross Primary

Winners: Larbert Village

Junior Journalists Award

Runners up: Bankier Primary, Dunipace Primary

Winners: Bo’ness Public

Hands across the Commonwealth

Runners up: St Patrick’s Primary, Easter Carmuirs Primary

Winners: Bonnybridge Primary

Clyde On Tour

Runners up: Wallacestone, St. Patrick's Primary

Winners: Antonine Primary

Most Unique Sports Experience

Runners up: Antonine Primary, Maddiston Primary

Winners: Ladeside Primary

Most Memorable Moment           

Runners up: Kinnaird Primary, Nethermains Primary

Winners: Wallacestone Primary

Pupil of the Games Award Nominees

Cameron Hudson (Bankier Primary)

Nicole McPherson (Dunipace Primary)

Katie Allen (Nethermains Primary)

Kieran Ferguson (Easter Carmuirs)

Emma Woods (Airth Primary)

Katie Cunningham (St Mary’s Primary)

Josh Ryan (St Patrick’s Primary)

Murray Brown (Ladeside Primary)

Runners up: Emma Woods (Airth Primary), Katie Cunningham (St Mary’s Primary)

Winner: Kieran Ferguson (Easter Carmuirs Primary)

School Games Hero’s Award nominees

David Straiton (Dunipace Primary)

Rachel McManus (Antonine Primary)

Onagh McLeod (Wallacestone Primary)

Carol Fawkes (Nethermains Primary)

Sharon Kyle (Westquarter Primary)

John Chalmers (Grange Primary)

Laura McInally (Larbert Village Primary)

Cath Halcrow (St Bernadettes Primary)

Jim Wilson (Ladeside Primary)

Sarah Ritchie (Bonnybridge Primary)

Sarah Russell (Nethermains Primary)

Jamie Malcolm (Wallacestone Primary)

Runners up: John Calmers (Grange Primary), Laura McInally (Larbert Village Primary)

Winner: Sarah Ritchie  (Bonnybridge Primary (nominated by Denny Primary))

Inspirational Legacy

Runners up: Larbert Village Primary, Bonnybridge Primary

Winners: Bo’ness Public

Going for Glasgow Best Overall School

Runners up: Hallglen Primary, Larbert Village Primary

Winner: Antonine Primary

View the whole photo album on our Flickr page!

Quotes from the schools

Kids had an amazing time at the awards, came back showing of their plaques to everyone at parents night!” – Lysa Thomson, Bo’ness Public

Thank you for all your hard work. Larbert Village had a great time.” - Jacqueline McLaughlin, Larbert Village

Thank you for all of the effort and support from Active Schools. GfG has been a real success and has made a great impact on a great deal of pupils! Well done!” – Gillian Rooney, St Mary’s

It was so professional, loads of fun and you created a great atmosphere even before it all began. The added touches of the red carpet, lights and music really helped make it special. Active Schools team all work so well together to make sports experiences great for Falkirk children. Long may this continue.”- Lynne Vint, Antonine Primary

Fantastic night & amazing legacy work around the 2014 Games. Well done Falkirk!” – Pamela Dewar, Sportscotland Partnership Manager (Coaching and Volunteering)

Published on Tuesday, 25th November 2014


comments powered by Disqus

Contact us

Falkirk Community Trust
Falkirk Stadium
4 Stadium Way

01324 590900