Falkirk Schools Cross Country Championships 2015

The annual Falkirk Schools Cross Country Championships took place at Bo’ness Recreation Centre on Friday 6th February. The weather on the day was bright and milder than recent weeks which helped the athletes to achieve some great times. The morning session saw almost 700 primary school runners from 37 different schools taking part and in the afternoon session there were around 250 secondary schools runners.

As always the day started with the P6 girls race which was won by Elvie McLean from St Margaret’s PS with Summer Christie (Ladeside) and Joanne Lumsden (Victoria) crossing the line together for second and third. The team prize was won by St Francis’ PS with three finishers in the top fifteen. The P6 boys race was very close with the top three finishing within 4 seconds of each other. It was won by Ivan Ramsay (Victoria) with Callum Jennings (Bankier) and Christopher Dickson (St Margaret’s) taking the other medals. The team prize went to Kinnaird who were helped by two finishers in the top six. The P7 girls race was won convincingly by Katey Allan (Nethermains) who won by 12 seconds from Lauren Barclay (Kinnaird) with Olivia Wilson (St Margaret’s) in third. The team award was won by Ladeside with three finishers in the top twenty. Finally in the morning the P7 boys race was won by Michael Mooney (Wallacestone) ahead of Daniel Bruce (Head of Muir) and Ben Sutherland (Victoria). Michael’s individual win was accompanied by the team prize for Wallacestone with two other teammates finishing in the top ten.

In the afternoon the secondary school races were dominated by runners from Larbert High and St Mungo’s and got under way with the S1/2 girls race which was won by Phoebe Angus (St Mungo’s) just ahead of Chloe McLung (Braes), both girls finished over a minute ahead of Kate McDonald (Braes) in third. In addition to Phoebe’s win runners from St Mungo’s finished in fifth and six to give them the team prize. The S1/2 boys race was won by Max Rintoul (Larbert) who finished ahead of Cameron Taylor (Denny) and Kane Elliot (St Mungo’s).  St Mungo’s also took the team prize in this category with three top ten finishers. The S3/4 girls race was won by Jessica Christie (Larbert) well ahead of Katy McGonigal (Graeme) and Toni Moore (St Mungo’s), Larbert secured the team award with three top ten finishers.  

In the S3/4 boys category it was a 1,2,3 for St Mungo’s with Lewis Pentecost taking first place with Alex Thomson and Blair Miller in second and third which gave them a clear win in the team event. The S5/6 girls race was won by Julie Nimmo (Larbert) ahead of Erin Pringle and Natalie McLeod (both St Mungo’s) and the team prize was won by Larbert. The final race of the day was the S5/6 boys which was won by Matthew Stevenson (Larbert) with Jordan Piercy (Larbert) in second and Cameron Scott (Falkirk) in third, the Larbert boys’ 1,2 helped them to pick up another team award.    

This event is organised by the Active Schools team who would like to thank their colleagues in Sports Development, the staff at Bo’ness Recreation Centre, The British Red Cross and all our helps and volunteers who helped make the event such a success.    

The full list of results, times and finishes can be found on this PDF.

Published on Tuesday, 17th February 2015


comments powered by Disqus

Contact us

Falkirk Community Trust
Falkirk Stadium
4 Stadium Way

01324 590900