Airth War Memorial


South of the parish church overlooking the Stirling Road, on land gifted by the trustees of Graham of Airth. A plot of ground 60ft squared was laid out with flower beds centred


Airth's war memorial is a Celtic cross made from Creetown silver grey granite, 16ft tall, set on a rustic plinth. Carved on the cross is a sword surrounded by laurel leaves. The base of the shaft carries a lion rampant on a panel, and the words "To the glory of God and in memory of the men of Airth parish who fell in the Great War, 1914-1919" in block capitals. At the back of the shaft is the acknowledgement "This site was granted by the trustees of the late Colonel Graham of Airth".

A new plaque, on the south side of the plinth, to commemorate the victims of the Second World War was unveiled on 7th December 1946 by Mr A. F. C. Forrester of Airth Castle. Sculpted by Mr W. Roberts from Falkirk. Unveiled by Lieutenant General Sir Walter Braithwaite on Saturday 8 December 1923.

Names of the Fallen

First World War: 35 men

  • Argyll & Sutherland Highlanders: Cpl. John Binnie, Pte. Jacob Collins, Pte. Adam Cumming, Pte. John Kelly, Pte. David Muir, Pte. Charles Penn, Pte. John Smith, Pte. Alex Younger.
  • The Black Watch: Pte. Walter Adams, Pte. Richard Quinn.
  • Highland Light Infantry: L/Cpl. James Flannigan.
  • Camerons:Sgt. William Ewart, Pte. William Ford.
  • Gordons:L/Cpl. Emmlyn Jones MM, Pte. John Douglas, Pte. William Miller.
  • Royal Seaforth Highlanders:Pte. John Carruthers.
  • Scottish Rifles: L/Cpl. Robert Wilson.
  • Scottish Horse: Cpl. Daniel McGonigal.
  • Royal Scots: Sgt. James Quinn, Pte. Thomas Cowan MM.
  • Machine Gun Corps: Cpl. George Soutar, Pte. Andrew Paton.
  • Royal Field Artillery:Bdr. Thomas Galloway, Gnr. Michael Barr, Gnr. Thomas Walker, Dvr. John Cowie
  • Canadian Expeditionary Force: Pte. John McPherson, Pte. William Reid, Pte. James Scrimgeour.
  • Australian Imperial Forces: Pte. James L. Mitchell.
  • Merchant Service: Cpt. John Hutton, Chief Off. Alex Ballantyne.
  • Mine Sweeper: Eng. John Stark.
  • Royal Naval Division: LS. Robert Leishman.

Second World War: 17 men

  • Argyll & Sutherland Highlanders: L/Cpl. Robert Birrell, L/Cpl. Robert Burden, Pte. John Dowell, L/Cpl. Robert Gillies, Pte. Arthur King, Sgt. Donald MacFarlane, Pte. William McMillan.
  • Camerons: Pte. William de Vries.
  • Royal Artillery: Gnr. Robert Douglas, Gnr. James McMillan, Gnr. Albert Ramsay.
  • Royal Air Force: Sgt. John Cowie, Sgt. Brown Ferguson, Sgt. William Law, F/ James Stratheam.
  • Royal Engineers: L/Cpl. Andrew Steel.
  • Royal Canadian Air Force: F/O B.H. Enns.

Related content

Last updated: 25 July 2014 at 16:14