Bookbug Sessions

Bookbug Sessions are free, fun and friendly events for babies, toddlers and their families to enjoy together.

Our sessions are suitable for ages 0-3. There's gentle songs for bouncing babies and loads of chances to move for toddlers who've found their feet! There are also stories and probably a few rhymes you'll remember from your own childhood.

Each session lasts around 30 to 45 minutes and is usually weekly. The atmosphere is relaxed and friendly and they're the perfect chance, not only for you to spend quality time with your wee one, but to meet other mums, dads, grandparents and carers.

Bookbug sessions promote a whole host of emotional, social and educational benefits for your child:

  • Our rhymes involve you making eye-contact or cuddling and tickling your baby, so they’re a lovely way to help you both bond.
  • You'll meet lots of different families and children who are at the same stage as you and your child so they’re great for building confidence, social skills and friendships.
  • Regularly hearing and singing songs and rhymes develops speech and language.
  • Moving to the music helps your child learn about rhythm and improves their listening and motor skills.
  • Find out more about how Bookbug can help your child's development on the Scottish Booktrust website.

Bookbug Sessions take place in every library in the Falkirk area weekly on the same day. Some libraries require advance booking, so please check the events below before you go.

Rhymetime events

A listing of upcoming events
Event Time
Tuesday, 19th February 2019
Bonnybridge Library, Bonnybridge
14:00
Slamannan Library, Slamannan
14:30
Wednesday, 20th February 2019
Meadowbank Library, Polmont
10:15
Larbert Library, Larbert / Stenhousemuir
10:30
Denny Library, Denny
10:30
Thursday, 21st February 2019
Grangemouth Library, Grangemouth
10:30
Friday, 22nd February 2019
Bo'ness Library, Bo'ness
10:30
Falkirk Library, Falkirk
10:30
Tuesday, 26th February 2019
Bonnybridge Library, Bonnybridge
14:00
Slamannan Library, Slamannan
14:30
Wednesday, 27th February 2019
Meadowbank Library, Polmont
10:15
Larbert Library, Larbert / Stenhousemuir
10:30
Denny Library, Denny
10:30
Thursday, 28th February 2019
Grangemouth Library, Grangemouth
10:30
Friday, 1st March 2019
Bo'ness Library, Bo'ness
10:30
Falkirk Library, Falkirk
10:30
Tuesday, 5th March 2019
Bonnybridge Library, Bonnybridge
14:00
Slamannan Library, Slamannan
14:30
Wednesday, 6th March 2019
Meadowbank Library, Polmont
10:15
Larbert Library, Larbert / Stenhousemuir
10:30
Denny Library, Denny
10:30
Thursday, 7th March 2019
Grangemouth Library, Grangemouth
10:30
Friday, 8th March 2019
Bo'ness Library, Bo'ness
10:30
Falkirk Library, Falkirk
10:30
Tuesday, 12th March 2019
Bonnybridge Library, Bonnybridge
14:00
Slamannan Library, Slamannan
14:30
Wednesday, 13th March 2019
Meadowbank Library, Polmont
10:15
Larbert Library, Larbert / Stenhousemuir
10:30
Denny Library, Denny
10:30
Thursday, 14th March 2019
Grangemouth Library, Grangemouth
10:30
Friday, 15th March 2019
Bo'ness Library, Bo'ness
10:30
Falkirk Library, Falkirk
10:30
Tuesday, 19th March 2019
Bonnybridge Library, Bonnybridge
14:00
Slamannan Library, Slamannan
14:30
Wednesday, 20th March 2019
Meadowbank Library, Polmont
10:15
Larbert Library, Larbert / Stenhousemuir
10:30
Denny Library, Denny
10:30
Thursday, 21st March 2019
Grangemouth Library, Grangemouth
10:30
Friday, 22nd March 2019
Bo'ness Library, Bo'ness
10:30
Falkirk Library, Falkirk
10:30
Tuesday, 26th March 2019
Bonnybridge Library, Bonnybridge
14:00
Slamannan Library, Slamannan
14:30
Wednesday, 27th March 2019
Meadowbank Library, Polmont
10:15
Larbert Library, Larbert / Stenhousemuir
10:30
Denny Library, Denny
10:30
Thursday, 28th March 2019
Grangemouth Library, Grangemouth
10:30
Friday, 29th March 2019
Bo'ness Library, Bo'ness
10:30
Falkirk Library, Falkirk
10:30
Tuesday, 2nd April 2019
Bonnybridge Library, Bonnybridge
14:00
Slamannan Library, Slamannan
14:30

Contact us

Library Support
Falkirk Library
Hope Street
Falkirk
FK1 5AU

01324 506800
Last updated: 06 September 2018 at 14:18