Bookbug Rhymetime Sessions

Bookbug Sessions are free, fun and friendly events for babies, toddlers and their families to enjoy together.

Our sessions are suitable for ages 0-3. There's gentle songs for bouncing babies and loads of chances to move for toddlers who've found their feet! There are also stories and probably a few rhymes you'll remember from your own childhood.

Each session lasts around 30 to 45 minutes and is usually weekly. The atmosphere is relaxed and friendly and they're the perfect chance, not only for you to spend quality time with your wee one, but to meet other mums, dads, grandparents and carers.

Bookbug sessions promote a whole host of emotional, social and educational benefits for your child:

  • Our rhymes involve you making eye-contact or cuddling and tickling your baby, so they’re a lovely way to help you both bond.
  • You'll meet lots of different families and children who are at the same stage as you and your child so they’re great for building confidence, social skills and friendships.
  • Regularly hearing and singing songs and rhymes develops speech and language.
  • Moving to the music helps your child learn about rhythm and improves their listening and motor skills.
  • Find out more about how Bookbug can help your child's development on the Scottish Booktrust website.

Most Bookbug Sessions are weekly, with the exception of Falkirk Library. You can usually just walk into a session, but some libraries require booking as they fill up quickly!

Rhymetime events

A listing of upcoming events
Event Time
Friday, 25th May 2018
Bo'ness Library, Bo'ness
10:30
Falkirk Library, Falkirk
10:30
Tuesday, 29th May 2018
Bonnybridge Library, Bonnybridge
14:00
Slamannan Library, Slamannan
14:30
Wednesday, 30th May 2018
Meadowbank Library, Polmont
10:15
Denny Library, Denny
10:30
Larbert Library, Larbert / Stenhousemuir
10:30
Thursday, 31st May 2018
Grangemouth Library, Grangemouth
10:30
Friday, 1st June 2018
Bo'ness Library, Bo'ness
10:30
Falkirk Library, Falkirk
10:30
Tuesday, 5th June 2018
Bonnybridge Library, Bonnybridge
14:00
Slamannan Library, Slamannan
14:30
Wednesday, 6th June 2018
Meadowbank Library, Polmont
10:15
Denny Library, Denny
10:30
Larbert Library, Larbert / Stenhousemuir
10:30
Thursday, 7th June 2018
Grangemouth Library, Grangemouth
10:30
Friday, 8th June 2018
Bo'ness Library, Bo'ness
10:30
Falkirk Library, Falkirk
10:30
Tuesday, 12th June 2018
Bonnybridge Library, Bonnybridge
14:00
Slamannan Library, Slamannan
14:30
Wednesday, 13th June 2018
Meadowbank Library, Polmont
10:15
Denny Library, Denny
10:30
Larbert Library, Larbert / Stenhousemuir
10:30
Thursday, 14th June 2018
Grangemouth Library, Grangemouth
10:30
Friday, 15th June 2018
Bo'ness Library, Bo'ness
10:30
Falkirk Library, Falkirk
10:30
Tuesday, 19th June 2018
Bonnybridge Library, Bonnybridge
14:00
Slamannan Library, Slamannan
14:30
Wednesday, 20th June 2018
Meadowbank Library, Polmont
10:15
Denny Library, Denny
10:30
Larbert Library, Larbert / Stenhousemuir
10:30
Thursday, 21st June 2018
Grangemouth Library, Grangemouth
10:30
Friday, 22nd June 2018
Bo'ness Library, Bo'ness
10:30
Falkirk Library, Falkirk
10:30
Tuesday, 26th June 2018
Bonnybridge Library, Bonnybridge
14:00
Slamannan Library, Slamannan
14:30
Wednesday, 27th June 2018
Meadowbank Library, Polmont
10:15
Denny Library, Denny
10:30
Larbert Library, Larbert / Stenhousemuir
10:30
Thursday, 28th June 2018
Last session before finishing up for the summer - back 23rd August
Grangemouth Library, Grangemouth
10:30
Friday, 29th June 2018
Bo'ness Library, Bo'ness
10:30
Falkirk Library, Falkirk
10:30
Tuesday, 3rd July 2018
Bonnybridge Library, Bonnybridge
14:00
Slamannan Library, Slamannan
14:30
Wednesday, 4th July 2018
Larbert Library, Larbert / Stenhousemuir
10:30
Denny Library, Denny
10:30
Friday, 6th July 2018
Falkirk Library, Falkirk
10:30
Tuesday, 10th July 2018
Bonnybridge Library, Bonnybridge
14:00
Slamannan Library, Slamannan
14:30
Wednesday, 11th July 2018
Denny Library, Denny
10:30

Contact us

Library Support
Falkirk Library
Hope Street
Falkirk
FK1 5AU

01324 506800
Last updated: 04 September 2017 at 14:16