Bookbug Sessions

Bookbug Sessions are free, fun and friendly events for babies, toddlers and their families to enjoy together.

Our sessions are suitable for ages 0-3. There's gentle songs for bouncing babies and loads of chances to move for toddlers who've found their feet! There are also stories and probably a few rhymes you'll remember from your own childhood.

Each session lasts around 30 to 45 minutes and is usually weekly. The atmosphere is relaxed and friendly and they're the perfect chance, not only for you to spend quality time with your wee one, but to meet other mums, dads, grandparents and carers.

Bookbug sessions promote a whole host of emotional, social and educational benefits for your child:

  • Our rhymes involve you making eye-contact or cuddling and tickling your baby, so they’re a lovely way to help you both bond.
  • You'll meet lots of different families and children who are at the same stage as you and your child so they’re great for building confidence, social skills and friendships.
  • Regularly hearing and singing songs and rhymes develops speech and language.
  • Moving to the music helps your child learn about rhythm and improves their listening and motor skills.
  • Find out more about how Bookbug can help your child's development on the Scottish Booktrust website.

Bookbug Sessions take place in every library in the Falkirk area weekly on the same day. Some libraries require advance booking, so please check the events below before you go.

Rhymetime events

A listing of upcoming events
Event Time
Tuesday, 20th November 2018
Bonnybridge Library, Bonnybridge
14:00
Slamannan Library, Slamannan
14:30
Wednesday, 21st November 2018
Meadowbank Library, Polmont
10:15
Denny Library, Denny
10:30
Please note change of day for this week
Grangemouth Library, Grangemouth
10:30
Larbert Library, Larbert / Stenhousemuir
10:30
Friday, 23rd November 2018
Bo'ness Library, Bo'ness
10:30
Tuesday, 27th November 2018
Bonnybridge Library, Bonnybridge
14:00
Slamannan Library, Slamannan
14:30
Wednesday, 28th November 2018
Meadowbank Library, Polmont
10:15
Denny Library, Denny
10:30
Larbert Library, Larbert / Stenhousemuir
10:30
Thursday, 29th November 2018
Grangemouth Library, Grangemouth
10:30
Friday, 30th November 2018
Bo'ness Library, Bo'ness
10:30
Tuesday, 4th December 2018
Bonnybridge Library, Bonnybridge
14:00
Slamannan Library, Slamannan
14:30
Wednesday, 5th December 2018
Meadowbank Library, Polmont
10:15
Denny Library, Denny
10:30
Larbert Library, Larbert / Stenhousemuir
10:30
Thursday, 6th December 2018
Grangemouth Library, Grangemouth
10:30
Friday, 7th December 2018
Bo'ness Library, Bo'ness
10:30
Tuesday, 11th December 2018
Bonnybridge Library, Bonnybridge
14:00
Slamannan Library, Slamannan
14:30
Wednesday, 12th December 2018
Meadowbank Library, Polmont
10:15
Denny Library, Denny
10:30
Larbert Library, Larbert / Stenhousemuir
10:30
Thursday, 13th December 2018
Grangemouth Library, Grangemouth
10:30
Friday, 14th December 2018
Bo'ness Library, Bo'ness
10:30
Tuesday, 18th December 2018
Bonnybridge Library, Bonnybridge
14:00
Slamannan Library, Slamannan
14:30
Wednesday, 19th December 2018
Meadowbank Library, Polmont
10:15
Denny Library, Denny
10:30
Christmas Special - Booking Essential
Grangemouth Library, Grangemouth
10:30
Larbert Library, Larbert / Stenhousemuir
10:30
Thursday, 20th December 2018
Christmas Special - Booking Essential
Grangemouth Library, Grangemouth
10:30
Friday, 21st December 2018
Bo'ness Library, Bo'ness
10:30

Contact us

Library Support
Falkirk Library
Hope Street
Falkirk
FK1 5AU

01324 506800
Last updated: 06 September 2018 at 14:18